Review: Precious Things

Review: Precious Things

27429391.jpg

Precious Things by Kelly Doust

Genre: Fiction, Contemporary/Historical

Published: 1 April 2016

Rating: ★★★★☆

Goodreads // Book Depository

Review

Um, so I possibly loved this way more than I should have, and definitely way more than expected.

One thing about this book: It is not boring.

You may be wondering why I have the need to clarify that? Well, you see, generally when I pick up  book like this I am bored to death by the end of chapter one.

Contemporary books, especially ones with a historical fiction aspect, can be so slowwwwww. But not this one.

Honestly, right from the beginning I was hooked. I wanted to know what will happen to Maggie’s job, her marriage and her relationship with her parents; I wanted to know Stella’s story; and I wanted to know what happened to all the women into whose lives the coronet entered.

This book was beautifully written and downright enchanting. Every character had a story and each story connected and drew me in to the point that I couldn’t put the book down until I found out all their endings.

Precious Things intertwined contemporary and historical, and ordinary and mysterious, in a perfect balance. Maggie’s struggles to deal with her modern life – as a working mother trying to find a balance between career and family – serve as a sharp contrast with the struggles of Aimee in 1800’s France, where the story of the coronet all began.

Despite what some reviewers seem to say, this book is not a light “chick lit” read. It has depth and character, and touches upon deeper issues in a not-so-lighthearted way. In fact, I would say that Return to the Little Coffee Shop of Kabul was a lighter read than this book – despite dealing with much more serious issues than trying to juggle marriage and career.

If you want to read a well written story about women and their realities during various periods of history, as well as their struggles during various different periods of their lives, then pick this one up. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

